Rock Hall Inductees Announced

The votes have been counted and the following have been elected for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame:

The Doobie Brothers – two former elected members are deceased

Depeche Mode

Whitney Houston – deceased

Nine Inch Nails

The Notorious B.I.G. – deceased

T. Rex – three elected members are deceased

The Ahmet Ertegun Award will go to Jon Landau, the head of the Hall of Fame’s nominating committee and Bruce Springsteen’s manager. This award is “given to songwriters, producers, disc jockeys, record executives, journalists and other industry professionals who have had a major influence on Rock and Roll.” Ahmet Ertegun is the late co-founder of Atlantic Records and chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The Doobie Brothers finished third in the Fan Vote and were elected their first time on the ballot. We spoke with two of their members yesterday (Tuesday) — founding singer and guitarist Tom Johnston, and Michael McDonald, who, in the mid-’70s, filled in for an ailing Johnston, and who’ll be part of this year’s 50th anniversary tour.

In addition to Johnston and McDonald, the other Doobies set for induction are:

Patrick Simmons

John McFee

Jeff ‘Skunk’ Baxter

John Hartman

Michael Hossack – deceased

Keith Knudsen – deceased

Tiran Porter

Following the end of the Fan Vote last Friday, Pat Benatar and her guitarist, bandleader, collaborator and husband Neil Giraldo posted: “Thank you from both of us for taking time out of your busy lives to vote 882,207 times! However this turns out, know that we are humbled and grateful for your love and support! You all continue to amaze us, you are simply the best.”

The 35th annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on May 2nd at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland and will be broadcast live, for first time, on HBO.

Tags: ,